Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Installer related issues

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Installer related issues

    Hi, guys -- just wondering if there's any way to persist installer settings across versions (installations). For "additional tasks", I'd love to have the dialog come up with "Include in Explorer context menu" checked. This would seem to be more desirable a default anyway, but it always comes up unchecked.

    Then again, maybe it doesn't matter if it's already been installed that way previously. Unchecking it won't remove that capability on an update install, will it?
    Last edited by Tom; 29-Nov-2007, 09:40 PM.

  • #2
    Tom,

    Checking "Include in Explorer context menu" in the installer will add Cirrus to the Explorer menu if it isn't already listed. If you leave it unchecked, it will not unload the shell extension.

    We're still using the same installer software as Beyond Compare 2, so the installer command line options we have listed for BC2 will also work with Cirrus. The options are listed at: http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo...?c=kb_netsetup
    Chris K Scooter Software

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by Chris View Post
      We're still using the same installer software as Beyond Compare 2, so the installer command line options we have listed for BC2 will also work with Cirrus.
      Sounds good, Chris -- I'll experiment a bit. Thanks.

      Comment


      • #4
        It would be really great if the installer remembered the settings from the last install. That way I don't have to take any new action or mess up something that I had previously set. This is a bigger deal for me as the Update option doesn't work for me due to our corp firewall setup.

        Comment


        • #5
          If I remember correctly, the installer remembers my choices from the last time.

          Comment


          • #6
            The installer should remember your preferences from the last install. Is there a specific option that you are enabling or disabling that isn't working the next time you install?

            The only option that might be confusing is the context menu option. The installer can add the shell extension if you don't have it enabled, but leaving it unchecked won't disable the shell extension if you already have it installed.
            Chris K Scooter Software

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by Chris View Post
              The installer can add the shell extension if you don't have it enabled, but leaving it unchecked won't disable the shell extension if you already have it installed.
              But what if there is a new version of the shell extension?
              I suppose unless you check the option it doesn't get installed?

              And I always do set this option manually, the installer doesn't remember if shell extension was checked in a install session before.


              Bye
              Christoph

              Comment


              • #8
                Christoph,

                Checking the box updates the shell extension and enables it.

                Leaving the box unchecked updates the shell extension, but doesn't change the enabled or disabled state of the shell extension from a previous install.
                Chris K Scooter Software

                Comment


                • #9
                  The next release will likely not show the "Select Destination Location", "Select Start Menu Folder", and "Select Additional Tasks" pages if it's upgrading an existing install, whether through the auto-update or manually run. Hopefully that will help with the confusion.
                  ZoŽ P Scooter Software

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by Chris View Post
                    Leaving the box unchecked updates the shell extension, but doesn't change the enabled or disabled state of the shell extension from a previous install.
                    Aha! That clears things up. I wasn't sure the extension was being updated if it was unchecked.


                    Originally posted by Craig View Post
                    The next release will likely not show the "Select Destination Location", "Select Start Menu Folder", and "Select Additional Tasks" pages if it's upgrading an existing install, whether through the auto-update or manually run.
                    That sounds like a good idea -- that'll definitely remove any possible ambiguity.

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X