Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Adding NTFS permissions AFTER already syncing folders

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Adding NTFS permissions AFTER already syncing folders

    Hello-
    I started the sync process, but forgot to set NTFS permissions in the handling. Is there any way to go back and set this to sync, without having to copy all the data over again?

    Thanks-
    Chris

  • #2
    Hello,

    Unfortunately, not with BC3. We cannot set the NTFS security descriptors (Touch) without copying the file with the Handling option.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

    Comment


    • #3
      Has this been improved in version 4? Is there any way to go back and set NTFS permissions to sync, without having to copy all the data over again?

      Comment


      • #4
        Sorry, this hasn't changed in Beyond Compare 4.3.4 (current version). It isn't possible to set NTFS permissions without copying file contents.

        You'll need to check Copy NTFS file permissions (requires admin rights) in the Handling tab of Session > Session Settings, then copy files again to copy permissions.

        Copy/sync of NTFS permissions without copying file contents is still on the feature request list.
        Chris K Scooter Software

        Comment

        Working...
        X