How to hotkey open with action

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to hotkey open with action

I like to play tracks I'm sorting to decide to keep/kill, etc. Is there a way to avoid the tedious right menu click click click and set a hotkey or quick click action to simply play a track straight up?
    Thanks for any help!

To assign a keyboard shortcut to an Open With command in Beyond Compare:

Open Tools > Options.
    Go to the Open With section.
    Click + to create a new Open With command or the gear icon to edit an existing command.
    Left click in the Shortcut field, then hit a key combination for a shortcut.
    Chris K Scooter Software

Comment

Thanks, didn't work. How can I tell it to use a certain program, VLC player, to play the file when I use the hotkey? Sorry, total noob here, but not completely stupid either.
      Do I need to put something in command line? I am lost.

Comment

To define VLC player as an Open With application in Beyond Compare 4:

In Beyond Compare, open Tools > Options.
        Go to the Open With section.
        Click +.
        Description: VLC Player
        Command line: "C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" "%f"
        Check Accepts files.
        Left click in Shortcut, hold down Shift+Ctrl+P to assign the shortcut.
        Click OK until you're back to the main BC window.

Load folders containing the files you want to play in the Folder Compare.
        Select a file, then use Shift+Ctrl+P to play it in VLC Player.

When defining an Open With command, the variable %f passes the filename and path.

You can also right click on a file in the Folder Compare and select Open With > VLC Player.
        Chris K Scooter Software

Comment

Hot damn, it works. But why on earth would anyone choose to have to wrangle with three keys instead of one? I just used ENTER.
          Muchas gracias, this is gonna save me oodles of stress and time!

Comment