Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Folders have been synched but still report as not having synched

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Folders have been synched but still report as not having synched

    I have a user who is using Beyond Compare to synch between a local and a network share. once the synch has completed it says that the files still need to be synched despite the metadata saying the files are the same. Any ideas as to why its reporting this way?

  • #2
    Are the file modified timestamps the same after the copy?

    Is the network share provided by a Windows server or is it a different operating system or a network storage appliance?

    Timestamps should be preserved if the network share is provided by a Windows server. Occasionally non-Windows network storage devices don't allow BC to preserve timestamps, this makes files show as different after a copy.
    Chris K Scooter Software

    Comment


    • #3
      This can also happen if the server is converting the files into symbolic links due to deduplication.

      If files are symbolic links they will have a small arrow icon. BC will not line up a symbolic link with a regular file of the same name using the default settings. To make them line up, select "Session > Session Settings". In the Handling tab, check "Follow symbolic links".
      Chris K Scooter Software

      Comment

      Working...
      X