• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kennethmgreen
    Visitor
    • Jan 2007

MAJOR ERROR syncing with 2.4.1 - [resolved]

Using BC 2.4.1 on WinXP Pro...

I have been using Beyond Compare for a couple years and have loved using it. Today was my first big problem with the software, and boy, was it a big one...

I use backup/imaging software Acronis True Image. I had backup images on two different Maxtor external USB hard drives. I wanted to "roll back" to an older version today, and created a new version (present snapshot) in case anything went wrong. In total, there were 4 backup images in the directory I was working with.

Now there are zero.

They are gone.....

I had both USB drives connected to my Thinkpad laptop and wanted to sync some backup directories. I was syncing in one direction (left to right). The sync included some directories, some zip files, and in a few directories, some big image files for Acronis (.tib files).

The sync seemed to be going along fine. When it got the second image file (about 2.5 gigs), things just seemed to stop. I had minimized BC, and couldn't get back to the progress window. The main screen (showing the directories) wouldn't take focus no matter where I clicked. Windows didn't appear taxed (CPU and memory use was normal). Just BC gone dormant.

After a few minutes of this, I forcefully quit BC and restarted Windows (XP Pro). I figured that I'd worry about syncing the older image files later. The one I wanted to roll back to was not part of the sync.

When Acronis started up, I went to select my backup file on the hard drive and THE DIRECTORY WAS EMPTY. Nothing was there.

I quit Acronis and rebooted Windows. When I looked at the USB drive, sure enough, the directory that contained my Acronis images was now empty.

This means that Beyond Compare not only clobbered the older files I was trying to sync, but ** also destroyed files that weren't part of copy **

How can this be? Did the entire directory get corrupted?