Scritping BC3 on Linux

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • blaz
    Visitor
    • Jan 2009
    • 7

    Scritping BC3 on Linux

    What is the difference in the syntax for scripting BC3 in Linux?
    In Windows I am calling this using a .bat file which point to the text file and the Beyond Compare exe file. In the text file I use the c:\Folder structure to load folders. How would I do this is Linux? I want to use a bash script and then call the text file in the bash script and pass a parameter in the bash script to load a folder called on the bash script.
  • Aaron
    Team Scooter
    • Oct 2007
    • 16000

    #2
    Hello Blaz,

    In Linux, you need bcompare installed, and a script file containing the script, just like Windows.

    Then create a bash file: "runme.sh"
    edit it, and the first line should be "#!/bin/sh" or whatever your specific sh path is. you can "which sh" from the command line to help you find it.
    the 2nd line should be bcompare @script.txt

    "chmod +x runme.sh" to make it executable
    Then, you can run your bash with "./runme.sh"
    Last edited by Aaron; 15-Jan-2009, 03:14 PM. Reason: added the o to Hello.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

    Comment

    • blaz
      Visitor
      • Jan 2009
      • 7

      #3
      Thank you. Can BC3 be run via a script on a Linux Host that does not have X Windows Installed? We juts purchesed several licenses for Dual Licenses but our Linux Machines do not have X Windows installed.

      Comment

      • Zoë
        Team Scooter
        • Oct 2007
        • 2666

        #4
        Sorry, no. BC has to be able to open an X-Windows connection even if it's run silently.
        Zoë P Scooter Software

        Comment

        Working...