Getting an "The parameter is incorrect" error

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • swampdonkey
    Visitor
    • Aug 2006
    • 6

    Getting an "The parameter is incorrect" error

    Good morning,

    I am trying to write a script that looks at two files, makes a compare and reports the differences. Below is what I have created.

    __________________________________________________ _______________________________________
    LOAD "C:\Program Files\Beyond Compare 2\BCWork\Left Folder" "C:\Program Files\Beyond Compare 2\BCWork\Right Folder"
    EXPAND ALL
    SELECT ALL.FILES
    FILE-REPORT LAYOUT:SIDE-BY-SIDE OPTIONSISPLAY-MISMATCHES,LINE-NUMBERS OUTPUT-TO:"C:\Program Files\Beyond Compare 2\BCWork\Report.txt"
    __________________________________________________ _____________________

    Once I run this script from a DOS Batch file, I get the following in the BC Script window:

    >>FILE-REPORT LAYOUT:SIDE-BY-SIDE OPTIONSISPLAY-MISMATCHES,LINE-NUMBERS OUTPUT-TO:"C:\Program Files\Beyond Compare 2\BCWork\Report.txt"
    Beyond Compare Version 2.4.1 (build 241)
    Exception occurred at:000119EE
    System Error. Code: 87.
    The parameter is incorrect


    Now, I have checked my code and compared it to other suggestions in this forum. I didn't think I was doing anything differently ... clearly I am. Any suggestions would be great.

    Regards.
  • Chris
    Team Scooter
    • Oct 2007
    • 5538

    #2
    Re: Getting an \"The parameter is incorrect\" error

    The script is correct. I tested it on my system and it generated a report.

    BC's error messages for this aren't very descriptive, but what is likely is that select all.files isn't catching any files. If you run file-report and no files are selected, it will give the "The parameter is incorrect" error.
    Chris K Scooter Software

    Comment

    • swampdonkey
      Visitor
      • Aug 2006
      • 6

      #3
      Re: Getting an \"The parameter is incorrect\" error

      Thank you ... I will further test.

      Comment

      • swampdonkey
        Visitor
        • Aug 2006
        • 6

        #4
        Re: Getting an \"The parameter is incorrect\" error

        Chris,

        This error appears to possibly be a bug with version 2.4.1. I installed version 2.4.1 on another PC and it caused the same error to appear. I then uninstalled version 2.4.1 and installed an older version (2.2.5). I ran my script and it ran without any issues. I figured you may wish to know.

        Comment

        • Guest's Avatar

          #5
          Re: Getting an \"The parameter is incorrect\" error

          there have been syntax xhanges in ver 2.4.3. You just upgraded didn't you?

          Comment

          • Chris
            Team Scooter
            • Oct 2007
            • 5538

            #6
            Re: Getting an \"The parameter is incorrect\" error

            Does this problem show up with our current version, 2.4.3?
            Chris K Scooter Software

            Comment

            • swampdonkey
              Visitor
              • Aug 2006
              • 6

              #7
              Re: Getting an \"The parameter is incorrect\" error

              Chris,

              Version 2.4.3 appears to have the issue corrected. Thanks.

              Comment

              Working...