trying to use file-report but it's not working

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Guest's Avatar

    trying to use file-report but it's not working

    I'm trying to write a script to generate html files with the folder diffs and separate files with file diffs. The folder diff seems to work fine using the folder-report command. I can't get any file-reports to work at all. I'm using beyond compare 2.2.7 build 227.

    Here is one of the scripts that I've tried:

    load abc1\src\mac abc2\src\mac
    log verbose log.txt
    expand all
    select all
    filter "xele.mac"
    compare binary
    file-report layout:side-by-side option:display-all output-to:xele.mac.html output-options:html-color

    Here is the log file for output:

    1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM >> log verbose log.txt
    1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM User name: clarsson
    1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM >> expand all
    1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM >> select all
    1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM >> filter "xele.mac"
    1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM >> compare binary
    1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM Binary Comparison of 1 Files
    1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM Elapsed time: 0.00 seconds
    1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM >> file-report layout:side-by-side option:display-all output-to:xele.mac.html output-options:html-color
    1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM Script completed in 0.04 seconds

    and here is the html file it creates:

    FILE COMPARISON
    Produced: 1/23/2005 10:34:13 AM

    Mode: All Lines

    File:

    So I can't get this thing to create any file report. I should also note that options: as in your help file causes a parameter error, so I'm using option: which seems at least to not generate an error. I've tried several different parameters, ex. statistics etc. but to no avail. All I get is the nearly empty html file. I know the files are different, so it should output something.

    I'm on windows XP, by the way.

    help!
    Chris
  • chrroe
    Pooh-Bah
    • Oct 2007
    • 588

    #2
    Re: trying to use file-report but it\'s not working

    Hi Chris!

    I was able to reproduce your problem, but I have a solution :

    Remove option:display-all from the file-report command.
    Then it works!

    I don't know why the option causes trouble since display-all is the default option. It looks like a bug. Chris, Tim, what do you mean?




    Bye
    Christoph

    Comment

    • Guest's Avatar

      #3
      Re: trying to use file-report but it\'s not working

      ok, tried your workaround and I'm working!
      Thanks alot!
      I'll watch for the real fix......
      Chris

      Comment

      • chrroe
        Pooh-Bah
        • Oct 2007
        • 588

        #4
        Re: trying to use file-report but it\'s not working

        Hi Chris!

        I'm glad to read this!

        While making some experiments with your script I noticed another little inconsistency:
        When the script has completed but BC is not closed yet, another instance of BC with the same script is not able to create the logfile log.txt!

        Code:
         24.01.2005 08:44:36  >> log verbose d:\log.txt
         24.01.2005 08:44:36 Cannot open file "d:\log.txt". Der Prozess kann nicht auf die Datei zugreifen, da sie von einem anderen Prozess verwendet wird.
        You must close any instance of completed script executions to get a logfile.
        I think there is missing a close command from BC right after the script has finished.


        Bye
        Christoph

        Comment

        • Chris
          Team Scooter
          • Oct 2007
          • 5538

          #5
          Re: trying to use file-report but it\'s not working

          The correct code is:
          Code:
          load abc1\src\mac abc2\src\mac
          log verbose log.txt
          expand all
          select all
          filter "xele.mac"
          compare binary
          file-report layout:side-by-side options:display-all output-to:xele.mac.html output-options:html-color
          The file-report command uses options. Option isn't valid syntax for file-report, that is why it wasn't working.

          I'm not sure why you were getting the parameter error, I ran the above modified version of your script and it worked without problems on my system. If the above script doesn't work for you, please let us know.

          Display-all is the default option for a file-report, so using options:display-all is the same as not entering any options.

          Also, you don't need the compare binary in your script. The file-report command performs a rules-based comparison of files, so the compare binary command isn't producing any useful output. To report the results of a binary comparison, use the folder-report command instead.
          Chris K Scooter Software

          Comment

          • Chris
            Team Scooter
            • Oct 2007
            • 5538

            #6
            Re: trying to use file-report but it\'s not working

            Hi Christoph,

            Thanks for reporting this. It showed up on my system as well. I'll add this to our list to be changed.

            Right now the best way to handle this is either to check the "Close When Finished" box in the scripting window, or use the /silent command line switch to suppress the scripting window entirely.
            Chris K Scooter Software

            Comment

            • chrroe
              Pooh-Bah
              • Oct 2007
              • 588

              #7
              Re: trying to use file-report but it\'s not working

              Hi!

              Uups, I didn't notice the difference between option and options.
              With options it is working well here, too.

              But the script parser should complain about option. Until now it shows no error but incomplete reports are generated. This is very irritating .

              We all (the users of BC) hope for a soon bugfix-update


              Bye
              Christoph

              Comment

              • Chris
                Team Scooter
                • Oct 2007
                • 5538

                #8
                Re: trying to use file-report but it\'s not working

                Thanks for the suggestion. I added it to the list to be changed.
                Chris K Scooter Software

                Comment

                Working...